Why SHOVEL Won’t Change His Avatar

What’s happening? You guys okay? Hopefully, yes.

I didn’t feel like posting so soon but some of you indirectly forced me. And then it’s my job to keep you happy. So Here’s todays bants.

Many times, people ask me why I’ve been using the same twitter avatar for so long. Because of the large number of curious people, I’ve decided to make the answer a post. Before I go on, y’all should have it at the back of your minds that this whole thing has nothing to do with looks. By that, I mean I’m good-looking and if you don’t think so

memememe

The answer isn’t so complex and at the same time, it’s not all that basic. Just in case you don’t know, I’m a boy. That’s what the biology folk call ‘male’.  Anyway, the truth is that I’m scared of cameras. And so because of that, I try my best to avoid taking pictures or better still, appearing in any kind of picture; moving (video) or still. That’s the foundational reason or primary reason or parent reason. You should know that doesn’t totally mean I don’t take pictures at all. I actually do but it depends on the importance or relevance of the picture. So it’s safe to say I ‘RARELY’ take pictures.

Since I called that my parent reason, you don’t have to be a genius to know that there are many other reasons. Let’s call them ‘sub-reasons’.  I know you would have liked a straight and brief answer to the question but hey, it’s better I answer you fully just so you don’t ask me any more questions on the topic.

My sub-reasons aren’t so tough to guess. They’re probably the most famous reasons why people like me don’t change our twitter avatars regularly or better still, don’t take pictures.

  • Cameras like to play smart

Wondering how that makes sense? It’s simple. The few times I decide to take pictures, cameras never get the actual thing. For some people, cameras seem to enhance their looks i.e. make them look a lot more attractive. For some others, cameras seem to lessen their looks. For another bunch, cameras capture them exactly how they look. And as fate would have it, I happen to fall into the category of those that get their looks lessened. Cruel stuff. I know you don’t care though.

  • Lack of interest / Laziness

As I said earlier, I rarely take pictures. The few times I do are stressful. Stressful because I’m never satisfied with the way the pictures come out and so I keep deleting as I take them. Cus of this, I end up giving up or managing the most presentable one.

  • Ignorance / Lack of Experience

This reason is seriously embarrassing. I’ll try not to think of the shame and go ahead to tell you guys.  I honestly don’t know how to take pictures. Like how to position the camera or how to position myself or how far to tilt my head or how much to pout or how much teeth to show or how bright the background should be or how wide my smile should be or how high to raise an eyebrow etc. Yes. I’m totally ignorant when it comes to that. I know ignorance is never an excuse but pardon me this time.

  • Awon judges

I can’t explain how much effect this one has. If I change my avatar a lot, some people would complain. It can be annoying when someone changes it too frequently. I mean, it’s not your underwear so why change it so much. On the other hand, if I don’t change it a lot, some people will complain. I don’t need to dwell on this because that is the inspiration and reason for this post. I have to be on one side and so I’ve chosen to be on the side of those who don’t change their avatars frequently.

  • Human beings are hard to please

Human beings are hard to please so why should I bother? I mean, if I use something like this as my twitter avatar:

Snapshot_20130912

I’d get questions like; why is the background so weird? Why isn’t the picture a selfie? Could this picture be a selfie-fail? Why is the background so bright? Who are the other boys?  What’s that oxblood thing on the right? Why isn’t the picture clear? Why isn’t there teeth showing? Why not a blue or red or orange tee? Where exactly is that? Why is the boy in the vest showing his arm? Why is Seyi’s nose big? (In case you didn’t know, I’m Seyi. I’m the one in black with ‘Shovel’ written beautifully on my shirt). You can call me Shovel) Why isn’t his head tilted? Why didn’t he pout? Why is his mouth open? Is his hair combed?

Wouldn’t life be easier if I didn’t take the picture? No one would have to be thinking of any questions.

Anyway, that’s all for this post. I hope I’ve answered your question. Now you should know the reason why I won’t change my avatar.  Bye and follow @SeyiSoneye.

Leave A Comment

