How Shovel Sees It – Sarcasm

Hey People. What’s up with you guys? It’s been a while since I last dropped something here, almost a week now. Who liked my honesty? I’m talking about my last post. Two posts back, I promised I was going to show you pepper because of the way you people are and I did justice to my promise by actually showing you pepper in my last post. Yes, I’m a man of my word. So brethren, if you’re looking for a good person, I’m always here.

So last night, after a very long day, I got back to my room really tired and stressed. On a normal night, I would never sleep before 11pm, regardless of how stressful the day might have been. This night was different. As I got in my room, I fell on my bed, did a little tweeting and tried my best to sleep. The sleep just didn’t come and so, I just stared at the ceiling and began to think of nothing in particular.

Different words and thoughts flowed through my mind but only one caught my attention.

SARCASM.

I began to ponder on the word. When I realized how pointless what I was doing was, I slept off. The next morning, I got up and rushed my preparation as I had to leave early for a programme I had to attend. When I was done with all my preparing, I left for the programme. I got there kind of early so all I could do was wait till it was time for the programme to start. I decided to while away time by taking a really brief power nap. As I slouched in my seat and closed my eyes, the word came again.

SARCASM.

Again, I began to think about the word. After a really short period of thought, it hit me. What hit me, you might be wondering. The truth. That’s what hit me. The truth about sarcasm.

Sarcasm has different meanings. Most of the time, it depends on the context. It is, by official definition, “a sharp, bitter, or cutting expression or remark; a bitter gibe or taunt.” That’s how people with time for long story see it. Much of it is irony. For example, “What a fine musician you turned out to be!”. “This isn’t an office. It’s Hell with fluorescent lighting. ”

To some people, it’s an attitude. Attitude in the sense that a person can be ‘sarcastic’. Different people have their own perception of it; though most of the perceptions are similar. Mine’s totally different though.

To be honest, I’ve never and still do not understand the concept behind sarcasm. Why it exists and all. Then it hurts when I see people use it or do it (I honestly don’t know the verb to use for it) because I don’t get it. I’ve always believed that I hate it but how can I hate something I don’t understand? Weird yeah?

To me, sarcasm is just an excuse for lying. Like a lie that’s meant to be funny and mean at the same time. For example, my sister goes to school in the morning. Later in the day, I see her in her room and I go, ‘You’re back already‘. And she shoots back at me saying, ‘No, I’m still at school ’. That’s sarcasm right? Or better still, she’s being sarcastic? That’s how most people would see it. To me, she’s lying. Meaning she’s a liar, because she just lied. But no, you’ll say I’m wrong when I’m actually right. You’ll say its sarcasm when she actually dropped a lie.

I mean, it’s clear that she’s not at school but at home. What’s wrong in saying, ‘Yes, I am’. What’s the big idea in telling me she’s at school? Is she trying to be mean? Or funny? Some would say she’s trying to be funny, some would say she’s trying to be mean, another set would say she’s trying to do both at the same time. But isn’t all that wrong? Didn’t she lie? Let’s be honest.

Judging from that example, I guess it’s safe to say sarcasm is really all about lying. This in turn implies that irony is also lying. Isn’t lying opposing morals? Isn’t it wrong to lie? I know lying can make one look good while the real truth is not known but still, isn’t it wrong? If it is, doesn’t that indirectly make sarcasm wrong?

I’m not judging. I’m just looking at it logically. You don’t have to agree with me because I don’t understand it. I force myself to hate it because of the pain of ignorance about it.

I can further conclude that English opposes morals in its own way; with ‘irony’ and ‘sarcasm’ as evidence of English’s guilt.

That’s all for today people. This is just one of those things that come to mind once in a while. What’s your view of the topic? Let me know. (Comment).  Later folks. Follow @SeyiSoneye.

5 thoughts on “How Shovel Sees It – Sarcasm

Leave A Comment

